Lilac Rain

So, I’m racing forests
Chocolate tickling my cuticles
Tingling tongue wishing it were 1997
When spring’s sticky scent sprinkled fairy dust patterns
So bright they reflected puddles
And the backyard was a slightly overexposed polaroid instant

The wind whispers memories in between my vertebrates
And I can’t help but think about lilac rain
How it falls in splotches instead of buckets or mist

You know when the sun is shining so bright your eyes are squinting
Slightly burning
But the water still flows?
That’s what the awe child queen called lilac rain

So, I’m racing forests
And the light bounces off my squint
Where the road is slightly overexposed
Hands drum the wheel
Nails bitten to jigsaws
I’m trying to focus but-

Look how the fairy dust bounces through the golden burn
Where the dark green drinks these splotches that just keep falling
The awe child queen is back and we’re singing reunion ballads
She’s praising the lilac rain and-

Woah…there goes the road, spinning away from the fairy dust
Mean steel boulder, faded blue enamel
Bright light screech
Reality

Stop.

My heart is shaking and my toes are numb
Everything’s ok but I think the awe child queen ran away

The road is perfectly exposed

So, I’m driving over highway 17
It’s raining
Just raining
I’m thinking about how I’m going to have to scrub away
The sticky chocolate that has stained my cuticles
How it’s not 1997
And wondering when I’ll next sing with the awe child queen

 

Photograph by Ashley Bean

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. simpledimple says:

    Loved the poem. And the photo too. 🙂

      1. simpledimple says:

        You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

