After the Deluge

Enflamed in the lipids of my brain, I can still remember how I couldn’t stop staring down the stars.

Electronic bursts of human made moonbeams tug my eyes.
I can’t pull away

Festival racing, festival trembling.
Friends cram, clutching strangers. “I love you, sir!”

Tonight the thunder and lightning generation merges with aging daisy souls. Sweet dripping wine and burning whiskey bottles, lit with LED rainbows, guide wild eyes through the evening sea. And the dust, the California dust shadows tan across my pores. My sunburnt shoulders cool in the icy night. I marvel over the hellish heaven engulfing my breaths.

Enflamed in the lipids of my brain, I can still remember how I couldn’t stop staring down the stars. 

Wiggling girl next to me
But I’m mind shaking, strange dreaming
“It’s somehow both heaven and hell here, isn’t it?”

Wiggling soul next to me
But she’s, eyes droopy, dream ready
“What could possibly be hell in this lit universe?”

Enflamed in the lipids of my brain, I can still remember how I couldn’t stop staring down the stars. 

I spin my gaze. Spin towards the dancers. Twitching fingers bounce fake fur and totem poles beneath wild lights. Drum beats guide stormy stomps as they disrupt the ground. It wails in a clouded atmosphere cocoon. I listen to the song. A child’s voice indents with the loud bangs drowned and shifted and pounded to party blasts.

“Did you ever have to worry about whether your children would see the great silver lake
The one where you learned to swim?
Where you first gazed into your reflection?
Where you first saw your eyes mirrored in the earth?

Because I do.”


Dancers twirl.
Manic pupils; glazed, crazed and hungry.
Love thy neighbor.
“I love you, sir.”

A dread headed zigzagger sways towards a grey beard. He clasps her fingers, spins a rollercoaster rhythm. Their teeth: dancing LED rainbows. I search for grimaces beneath bared smiles. A cocked giraffe mask bobs within the spiraling clump.

Enflamed in the lipids of my brain, I can still remember how I couldn’t stop staring down the stars.

I’m lost in the heavens,
Lost in a hellish dusty lust of pounding party blasts.

My lips are parched in this deluge.
Drown.
Drown in the evening sea.

Water.

They keep sharing water. Pour it over thy neighbor.
There’s no more water.
Drown. Drown in the drought.

Swim the evening sea.

Manic pupils; glazed, crazed and hungry.
“I love you, sir.”

The thunder and lightning generation merges with aging daisy souls.

“Do you ever worry about whether your children will see their eyes mirrored in the earth? Because I do.”

I couldn’t stop staring down the stars.

img_2012

Wondrous illustration
by my talented dear friend
Annamarie Pilon 

Leave a Reply

