Cycle

In Summer
Unrealistic brights blind

Heartbeat

Beat beat

My blood now electrified
My eyes now wide
And this world spins the

beat beat
off its axis

Permanent grin
My cheeks are weary and my jaw
Is sore from chewing the vibrations of my

Heartbeat

My nostrils flare
Autumn smells of bitter smoke
I watch crashing hearts rust to dust

Dustbeat

Beat beat

This outer skin rots to truth
As my cheeks relax to the first hum of reality
The smoke clears
But now my eyes sting, fresh

Freeze

First signs of reality overdose:

Paralysis &
staggered beat

Beat

Beat

Beat

Autumn ember nights shiver
In the solstice freeze

Goodnight December

My eyes still wide
Beneath their resting lids
Hibernation nightmares

Beat

Beat

Beat

My blood now solid

Dreaming, slow escaping

Sleep

Sleep

Crash

Wake up! Wake up!
Manic bright beams

Disrupt the dust

Kick the settling nightmares

Ouch!

They’re solid
They’re real

With blistered feet I
Spin as the landscape clears

Dizzy, dizzy
Beat

Beat

Beat

Wake up! Wake up!
Reference points hide
Beneath the grey February sky

At any moment the foundation may crumble
So I
Hang tight to the shaking land
And pray the rebirth arrives before the storm

2 Comments Add yours

  1. embear123 says:

    I relate to this poem a lot because I have nightmares from my PTSD every night. I also think you nailed how anxiety feels. Hang in there xx

    1. blythenora says:

      Wow, what a powerful comment. I am so moved. Thank you for such warm feedback! Many hugs.

Leave a Reply

